Slavery Quotes

Sourced

Abolition of slave trade

  • Personally I believe the bicentenary offers us a chance not just to say how profoundly shameful the slave trade was – how we condemn its existence utterly and praise those who fought for its abolition, but also to express our deep sorrow that it ever happened, that it ever

    could have happened and to rejoice at the different and better times we live in today.~ Tony Blair, in a statement to New Nation newspaper published on 27 November 2006.

    Islamic Republic of Mauritania

  • When I became conscious of what my situation was, I thought of the best way to escape without being caught. I knew that if I didn’t find that way, I could be killed.[1]

    Unsourced

  • I didn’t know I was a slave until I found out I couldn’t do the things I wanted. — Frederick Douglass (African American orator, journalist and civil-rights leader, 1817-1895)
  • Whenever I hear anyone arguing for slavery, I feel a strong impulse to see it tried on him personally.–Abraham Lincoln
  • As I would not be a slave, so I would not be a master. This expresses my idea of democracy.– Abraham Lincoln

    In writings

  • The life of an animal is misery and slavery: that is the plain truth.
    o Old Major, Animal Farm

  • Slaves cannot breathe in England; if their lungs receive our air, that moment they are free, they touch our country and their shackles fall. That’s noble, and bespeaks a nation proud and jealous of the blessing
    o A passage in the poem ‘The Task’, by William Cowper

  • Leave a Reply

