Youth Quotes

Sourced

  • “It is an illusion that youth is happy, an illusion of those who have lost it; but the young know they are wretched, for they are full of the truthless ideals which have been instilled into them, and each time they come in contact with the real they are bruised and wounded.” W. Somerset Maugham, Of Human Bondage, 1915
  • “Youth cannot know how age thinks and feels. But old men are guilty if they forget what it was to be young…and I seem to have forgotten lately.”
    o As Dumbledore words, J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Order of The Phoenix.

  • “YOUTH: The too-brief span wherein the human chassis is factory-fresh, undented and free of corrosion; a pristine condition worshiped by menopausal women in sweatsuits and shrinking men with chestnut-brown toupees, while those who actually possess it are frequently too shallow or despondent to enjoy it.” – Rick Bayan, The Cynic’s Dictionary
  • “..youth are diamonds in the sun, diamonds are for ever..” .youth group — foreveryoung Originally Alphaville song by the same name.

    Attributed/Unsourced

  • “I find young people exciting. They have an air of freedom, and they have not a dreary commitment to mean ambitions or love of comfort. They are not anxious social climbers, and they have no devotion to material things.”
    o Unknown

  • “I wasted most of my youth worrying about what other people thought about me, and then I realised that other people hardly thought about me at all.”
    o Unknown

  • “There is only one difference between an old man and a young one: the young man has a glorious future before him and the old one has a splendid future behind him: and maybe that is where the rub is.
    o Unknown

  • “What I lack in youth I make up for in immaturity.”
    o Marty Feinberg

  • “When I was a teenager, I felt that I was just young and uncertain — that I was a new boy in a huge school, and I would have been very pleased to be regarded as something so interesting as a problem. For one thing, being a problem gives you a certain identity, and that is one of the things the young are busily engaged in seeking. ”
    o Unknown

  • “You are too young to be old…”
    o Jim Morrison

  • “Youth is truly wasted on the young”.
    o Unknown

  • Older people believe, for reasons I can’t fathom, that youth equals stupidity, when youth is really an attribute to intellect, not a detriment. I’ve had to teach this to several people, mostly teachers, the hard way, where my youth helps me because they don’t see the intelligence coming. Basically, youth trumps age any day of the week.
    o Zeke Willey

  • Leave a Reply

